Just as the Rising Sun

Today while taking Daniel to school, I noticed that the rising sun was gorgeous. This morning, the clouds were magnificent, creating a wall of white fluff that resembled delicious and ethereal mountains. Right in the middle of my view was the glowing sun, radiating crisp orange hues and soft yellow tones onto the surrounding landscape. I drove extra slow on the 2 minute commute in order to soak in more of the scene. I grabbed my phone in an attempt to capture the beauty, but no quick cell phone photo from the car could do the picturesque moment justice. I vowed that when back home, I would enjoy the ascension of the sun more, perhaps even grabbing the “real camera” to take a quality photo.

As I walked Daniel inside, I saw a neighbor on the way out from taking her son. “Shirley, I was going through Wesley’s fall clothes and came across a red jacket with ‘Luke’ written in the tag. It was one of the hand-me-downs you gave to Daniel when he was 3! Now Wesley is going to wear it!” Together we ruminated on how swiftly kids grow, how on earth she had a 19 year old, and that it was unbelievable I have a kid in kindergarten.
Back in the car, I was off towards home. With around 2 minutes of commuting back, I was ready to observe all that I could of the sun and clouds and morning dew. Glancing back towards the east, I noticed that in just a few minutes, the sun had done what it was made to do; it had risen just a little higher in the sky, completely altering the perfect imagery I had been privileged to view just moments before.  Gone were the amazing combinations of color, the soft puffs of white, and radiant rays of light. “Wow, that was fast” I thought to myself. “How fleeting.”

And, just as the rising of the sun, so is everything in life: fleeting. The transient nature of things is why we should savor the precious times, for soon I too will be questioning, like Shirley, how on earth I have a 19 year old. Due to the evanescence of life, even the bad things can be conquered with strength, for soon, as the old saying goes, “this too shall pass.”

We’ve had a hard year here on our end since February. All the plans we had in January were turned upside down in the matter of weeks. We miscarried what was to be our third child, we moved across the state–again–, Thomas quit his prestigious job to enroll in school full time to become a Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner and he started his own private therapy practice, our son started kindergarten, I began back part-time teaching of composition in the college classroom, and life just kept giving us small yet challenging steps. It’s been wild and crazy, indeed.

Yet, this morning, I realized how soon I will look up and wonder where this time went. The time of settling, the time of mourning, the time of adjusting, the time of learning, the time of growing, the time of clinging, the time of loss, the time of new, the time of trusting, the time of being. I’ll look back and say, when Thomas has his degree, when we’ve decided again to grow our family, when Daniel and Wesley both are in school, when Thomas’s practice is even more than it already is, and I will say, “Wow, that was fast; how fleeting”

Just as the rising sun.

7 thoughts on “Just as the Rising Sun

Leave a Reply

