Turning 3, Super Hero Style

I can’t believe I let the whole month of June finish out before posting about my sweet Wesley’s birthday and party. In fact, I let the whole month of June go with only posting once! I promise to do better here in July. In keeping with that, let me tell you a little about my second son’s big day!

On his actual birthday, he immediately began asking for his cake when he woke up in the morning. I guess when you turn 3 you don’t think it is a birthday until you blow out a candle or something. In an attempt to appease, I made him pumpkin muffins for breakfast. This boy just *loves* them and they are pretty simple to create, just some pumpkin and coconut oil and a few other things and they are ready to bake. He also got to open a gift from his Uncle John, still with the “sleepies” in his eyes, as I use to say when growing up (and he has shorts on, promise. The boys are just real big now days about sleeping with no shirt).

That night, the family went out to eat at Chili’s. If we are going to eat out, we tend to eat here, only because they very frequently send e-mails out with TWO free Kids’ meals with an adult entree. They have some pretty healthy choices, and if I order something (we will sometimes go when Thomas is at work), both kids get to order a meal—for free! They had a coupon out available for use on Wesley’s actual birthday, so that is just what we did. While there, he got to open a present from us, a Spiderman toy and an Avengers shirt. He was so excited about each and had to put them to use right away. The shirt he wore in was taken off and his new one was put in its place. The server saw that we were celebrating our little man, and since Wesley was very eager to tell everyone “I 3 today!” the waiter  helped us celebrate by bringing out a brownie with ice cream–for free! We had a good time and Wesley was very happy.

There was a little gap between his actual birthday and the big celebration, but when it finally arrived, Wesley was pumped. We did a general super hero theme, which made planning and staging really simple, for any super hero worked! I had found a load of Batman supplies at a consignment sale for $5 and then I found Spiderman stuff clearenced out at Target, so we got all his themed items for a great price. I intended to do so much more in celebration but my time couldn’t catch up with my plans. So, I did the best I could for my little man, and since he is 3, it was plain perfect.

Everyone was asked to “help us save the day” and wear a Super Hero shirt.

I blew up some balloons and had Thomas cut out some bats and we made a cool Batman balloon banner (and it is still up—I liked it :O)

I had big plans of making all these super cookies look like Captain America shields but I realized after about 5 of them that I am not enough of a meticulous or type A person, so the rest of them just ended up being solid, bright colors. At least a few looked great, right?

I got all goofy and put colors in the lemonade and named them Super Hero names. Daniel assisted by coloring the labels, for he was really persistent about contributing to the celebration, much of which was officially assembled while Wesley napped.

The table was decked out with fruit, veggies, olives (a Wesley favorite), chips and salsa, and what were self-acknowledged some of the best cupcakes I have personally ever made. They were soooo good. Thomas also grilled hamburgers for us. He is always so good about making the main course food!

We opened gifts right away, for who wants to make a newly 3 year old wait?

You can see Wesley with the shield my brother brought and the cape my mom wore, while arriving as Captain America and Batman. Whether they intended to or not, Wesley got to keep them, for there was no way he was letting those two items out of his sight.

He later spent 20 minutes jumping off our ottoman yelling “To The Bat Cave!!” or “BATMAN!” while throwing his arms out and spreading wide the cape. It was pretty stinkin’ hilarious–and cute (and yes, we had a wardrobe change—because his Aunt Chelle and Uncle Austin got him a shirt he had to put on immediately!)

To the Bat Cave!

All in all, it was a great little event. We kept it pretty simple, just ran around the yard playing with toys, no official games. The birthday boy was happy, and that makes me happy, so I will call it a success!

My kids consistently refuse to cooperate with pictures, so it seems, and my nephew has this unending need to do bunny ears in every photo, but this is pretty genuine and true to form, so I like it.

The little “I can’t believe you were this tiny 3 years ago!” set-up, along with the plates and napkins,

Happy Birthday, Wesley Reesse! Enjoy being 3!

Holy smokes, it’s Batman! Or maybe just Daniel…..

Our sweet neighbors with their thanks for coming gifts–a Spiderman cup, Spidey paper with markers, suckers, and Captain America tattoos.

Aunt Chelle and Grandma help to prepare Wesley for his jumps!

Last minute shot, to prove Thomas was at the event!

Daniel took this of me and Elizabeth. Great shot, Daniel!

5 thoughts on “Turning 3, Super Hero Style

  1. I love the way these are REAL birthday celebrations – family, friends, and food. None of the Chucky Cheese or roller skating nonsense where the kids ignore the concept of celebrating a birthday. And your money saving mix-it-up efforts are always so cute!

    • Yes Pat! I always tell Thomas I know that their parties are sometimes a little “boring” on the birthday party scale, but i plan it with love! Until they beg me for something different, I plan to keep them at our home and on the cheaper end of things.

  2. What a fun day! I’m totally impressed with your creativity and execution, Summer! It’s hard to believe that the last time I saw you Wesley was in your belly…sort of sad!

    • I always love reading your stories, and I am so very impressed with your ability to show us all that it doesn’t cost a fortune to have fun! you should consider turning some of your stories into little books that you can order online…..you are truly a gifted / blessed woman / mother / and friend… I am honored to know you……… hugs…….. :-)

Leave a Reply

