Trick-or-Treating

We started off our costume wearing with a bang, or more like a bust. As I said last Friday on Facebook, “Who dressed her kids up in costumes, albeit not their official Halloween costumes, and took her kids to an event in downtown Clarksville, only to realize that the event is the NEXT night. Certainly not this mom. Certainly not.” (see the pictures here)

On Saturday, we attended a party at the home of one of Thomas’s co-workers. Through a miscommunication, I was unaware of the adults should wear costumes too plan. 3 hours before party start, I got the memo, and being that Thomas was at a motorcycle class that day, I and had to get to work planning something based off of materials in my home while the kiddos were napping. I was pretty impressed with myself. It doesn’t get much better than a homemade burger and a can of Mountain Dew.

Daniel went as Thomas the train, but I somehow missed snapping a photo of him. Wesley was an alien from Toy Story. Both costumes for the kids were taken from our dress up bin, and they were thoroughly happy to wear more festive attire out and about again.

The hostess was a girl after my own heart, for she had themed Halloween items all around, most specifically for our food. My favorite had to be the “pumpkin brains,” which was a roasted pepper stuffed with spaghetti. Wesley was a huge fan.  One of the best things about the party was that everyone dressed up! I love when folks follow through.

Sunday night we took the kids to a Trick-or-Trunk at the home church of our friend’s parents. It was a small little Methodist church that took the event seriously, and it was great to have a small, safe environment for the kids to mingle. This trip Daniel recreated the cowboy get-up and Wesley chose to be a “Bad Guy,” which by no means should be confused with a “Pirate.” He would set you straight if you called him a pirate.

 

And, last but not least, the main event. Thomas had put the finishing touches on Daniel’s costume and the boys were ready to be their chosen costume duo, “Larry Boy and the Fib from Outer Space.”

(I am not sure why Daniel kept doing this head tilt deal) Here is the real Larry Boy and Fib, for reference:

Not everyone knew who Daniel was, for if you don’t really have young kids, you are basically unaware of Veggie Tales, and you really need to be a Veggie Tales fan to know of Larry Boy. I think, however, that Thomas made a terrific hood for Daniel to wear, and my last minute sewing scraps raid proved to pull through for me once again (perhaps the yellow looks familiar to you…..it was my hamburger “cheese”). Although Wesley was beyond proud to be “blue guy” AKA “Elmo costume from after Halloween 90% clearance spray painted blue” AKA “The Fib from Outer Space,” everyone kept calling him Cookie Monster. As long as the name Cookie Monster was followed by candy, he could care less. This boy figured out the routine fast, and by the end of the night, he was chiming in with “One more house! Candy!”

It was such a fun night Trick-or-Treating, and the fun that my kids had at all the events made my heart happy, sans the non-event event that I took them to a day early.  Last year was no where near this fun, and I can’t imagine what sort of wild and wacky costumes the kids are going to want to be next!

And just think of how awesome my costume would be if I had more than 3 hours notice! :o)

One thought on “Trick-or-Treating

Leave a Reply

