My Mother’s Day

On Monther’s Day, I got to sleep in while Thomas took care of the kids. I usually get Sundays as my sleep in day and he usually gets Saturdays (and by sleep in we mean not wake up at or before 6AM with the kids). When I awoke, I found flowers in a vase sitting in the middle of the bedroom floor, complete with a card and a huge set of colored ink pens, which all made my heart happy. When I called the kiddos into the room, we all gathered on the bed while I opened my card, at which point I found an iTunes gift card!

We all went to church together and Daniel made me some sweet things in Sunday School. They also taught him to say please and thank you in sign language and then encouraged him to say “You are the best Mommy in the whole world!” all day long. It was so precious.

After church, we went to lunch out and met my Mother-in-Law to celebrate her.

After naps for the boys, we played outside and took it easy the rest of the day. It was really nice to stay low key. I feel like we have been on the go a lot lately, so keeping things simple for Easter and Mother’s Day was nice.

Looking at this simple photo of me and Wesley walking towards the swing set on Mother’s Day, I realize I am not really a mom to a baby anymore! I certainly refuse to call him 2 yet (we have about 2 more weeks until that happens!) even though Thomas always makes fun of me when I tell people he is 1 when they ask his age. I just don’t want him to be 2 until he is 2. I want to savor my 1 year old as long as I still can.

And, since you are dying to know, I am sure, here is a glimpse of some artists that are now on my ipod, thanks to the sweet gift card from my sons.

  • Sugarland
  • Old Crow Medicine Show
  • Florence + The Machine
  • J.J. Heller
  • Jamie Grace
  • Pink
  • The Black Eyed Peas
  • John Rich
  • Christina Perri
  • Lyndsay Taylor
  • Hot Chelle Rae

(plus I have enough for one more song!)

I am so pleased to be a mother, and I am thankful for my two boys. It is amazing to see my heart grow in ways I never imagined it could. Just when I think they are as cute as they can get, something even cuter and more memorable comes along. The pride I have in my children is fierce. I get so stinkin’ proud of my children, and the motherhood journey has only just begun. Whether it is reading some of his very first words or drawing an amazing photo, Daniel impresses me often and leaves me very aware of the fact he is an intelligent being that can solve problems in a way that will help many in the future. There is truly awe in the determination I see in Wesley, even at the age of 1, that tells me the boy is going to take on the world one day and make a difference. He will never be a quitter.

I feel blessed, even in the moments of frustration or exhaustion, that God has allowed me to be a mom– two times over.

Leave a Reply

