A Chair of One’s Own

Yes, I know it is really “A Room of One’s Own” but in my current case, I am settling for a chair, as perfect for me chair.

You see, I am outnumbered 3 to 1. I have 3 males in my home to the one little female me. Right now, I am bigger than 2 of the 3 males, but I am sure I will blink and next week the boys will surpass me in size. It is only a matter of time.

I love them with every inch of my heart, I really do, but sometimes I need a little space for mommy. And mommy just happens to like bright and happy things, surrounded by comfort and natural light. Unfortunately, this rental home we are in for at least the next year is not as kind and generous with natural light as our old home. There are many factors to that fact, and nearly every single one is out of our control. I love our new place, yet I do desperately miss the blindless windows that offered pure sunshine during every phase of the day. Happiness abounded when I could steal a seat at our kitchen table and read the Word in a warm glow of sun. Even working on the laptop was better in bright circumstances.

So, when I was walking around a store the other day, kid free I might add, thanks to the hubs, I saw this sweet little chair and stopped to stare at it for a few minutes.

After liking it, I looked at the price tag. It was on clearance, which is about the only way I ever buy anything. While reading the clearance price, which was fabulous, I noticed the words “recliner.” That’s right, this little beauty reclines!

And it fits ME perfectly! See, I am generally too short for everything. Recliners and sofas hit me all in the wrong places. My feet dangle awkwardly, my head tilts forward rather than relaxing in the proper place, and I am never able to close a recliner without getting out of it and shoving it close with my hands. Take all those negatives and reverse them and you get how I am in this chair. My feet can touch the floor comfortably, my head can lean back and relax rather than be slightly shoved forward, and to recline, I just lean back and voilà, I am reclined. To put the chair back into the upright position, I just close it with my feet like most people!

I was in ♥ love. So, I immediately walked away.

Yeah, that’s how I roll. I went through the rest of the store and tried not to think about it. I took a second stroll in the direction of the chair. In a normal circumstance, I would have completely left the store and came back the next day, for I do not like to impulse buy, especially on something like a chair! But the deal was *so* good. And there was another lady looking at it! Fortunately, she was not local, just in town for business, so the chair would not have fit on the plane as a carry-on. She complimented the lines on the chair, the piping, and she “oohed” at the fact it was a recliner. We both commented on the cool feet of the chair in the back, which you can’t see in the picture. Curiously, she asked me “Why are you not getting it?!” I told her I was afraid of the color, for I live with BOYS mind you, who would most likely love to smear snot and dirty frog gut covered hands on it, and that is just referencing Thomas, not to mention Daniel and Wesley. Beige is not the color for a house of boys.

Then, she said the magical words, “Well, that chair looks made for you (at this point I was sitting in it again). You should make it your own.”

And that is just what I did. I bought it, obviously. I did not even go home and sleep on it. I bought it.

Now, this chair of my own, is not for the boys. It is for me. It sits right by our bedroom window, complete with my garage sale pillow sitting on it (even though it came with a pillow, I like my 25 cent one better). I have already sat in it to read my Bible and bask in the sun that comes though, even on an overcast and rainy day like today, when I took the pictures. I am typing this blog post in it now.

I’m sure you have a place or an item in your house that helps to lift your spirits. I think this is my new thing to do just that. It makes me smile, and now it is my very own!

2 thoughts on “A Chair of One’s Own

Leave a Reply

