What’s Not To Love?

Last night, in the silence after the kids were asleep and Thomas and I were in bed prepping to do the same, I just randomly asked Thomas, “What do you love about Daniel and Wesley?” So, we just both rattled off some of the things close to our heart that we love about our kids.

For Daniel, I mentioned that I loved that he was so genuine. He truly gets excited about the little things. The random stickers our friends sent in the mail, the $1 his Grandmama gave him for Valentine’s Day, the cards that come with this birthday gifts, or the request to go outside and play being granted all cause him to react in a honest and excited way that is just hard to replicate in adults. I hope he never outgrows the love for the simple things.

 

 

 

 

 

Thomas noted that Daniel has a great sense of humor. He seriously tells the best knock-knock jokes. They make no sense whatsoever but he loves telling them. “Knock-Knock.” “Who’s there” “America Flag” “America Flag who?” “America Flag wiggle, wiggle, wag in the wiiiinnnnnnddd!” I mean, how can you not laugh at that?

 

I also said I love how he sometimes talks like an adult. To see him walk up to an adult, shake his hand, and introduce himself, “Hi, my name is Daniel; I four!” is great. Hearing him parrot back things I say to him, correctly and in context, is such a hoot, especially when I hear him parent Wesley “No, no Wesley. We do not touch that.” We are working on obedience, specifically first time obedience, and the other day Daniel asked me to do something, which I did not do right away. He came over to me, grabbed my hand, and said, “Momma, look at me. I need obedience now please.” Such adult talk! I tried to explain that mommies and daddies do not have to have the same obedience as children do to their parents between my chuckles at his sweetness.

 

For Wesley, we both mentioned things that were associated with his talking. It is so awesome to hear him communicate. I feel his vocabulary is better than Daniel’s was at this age, but that could just be I can’t really remember. He is, for sure, more animated in his speaking, which is more specifically where Thomas’s love was placed. I just wish you could hear him say “Nawwwhhhh!” Cracks us up!

 

Secondly, Thomas mentioned his love for Wesley’s faces. This is no doubt a lovable feature. He has a plethora of faces that he has made since birth. I have so many photos where he has just the most humorous face that makes you just wish you could get inside his head and know what he was thinking. Now days, he gets a little deliberate in his face making.  If you pull out a camera, he will make some crazy face, goofy grin, silly nose squish or something of the like. Immediately after the photo is taken, he squeals out, “I see! I see!” which is then followed by “Awwwhhhh!” It is actually really hard to catch a normal smile from him now days. Here is some more proof from this past month, with a final photo of a more normal smile:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, if you have kids, in the quietness of your day, just take some time to rattle off a few random things that you love about them. Heck, even if you don’t just rattle off the things you love about anyone! I promise it will be heart-warming!

2 thoughts on “What’s Not To Love?

  1. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

