Hi to HI

Thomas had a business trip last week. Darn business trips, right? Well, normally I would concur, but this business trip was in Hawaii!!!

And I went with him!

We spent a whole week together, without kids, on the island of Oahu. Being that he had business to attend to during much of the day (8-3 or so), I had alone time. If you know me, you know I am not much of a loner. The peace and serenity in the beauty of the island, however, was magnificent.

I spent much of my days walking the beach, people watching, listening to music on my iPod, soaking up rays, shopping, and offering to take pictures of others together in a shot so that everyone could be in the photo. I also took time to run, kayak on the Pacific, and snorkel. Once Thomas joined me after work, we ate nice meals, had conversations without interference, visited Pearl Harbor and toured a battleship, hiked Diamond head, rode around in a Mustang convertible, participated in a luau, and rode ATVs in one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen in my life.  During those times it was like we were on our honeymoon, but with more life and couple experience to make it sweeter.

And, yes, I said it—we did it all without the kids. I’ll tell you, I was nervous about this venture, but the allure of a paid for trip (excluding my plane ticket) was just too much to pass up without major consideration. I consulted more seasoned moms to see what they thought about leaving my babies with my mom, who volunteered to take a week off work to watch them. Their verdict: do it, and do it guilt free. I can’t say I didn’t battle some mommy guilt but I did overcome most it once the perfect 80 degree temps met my skin and a rainbow outside my hotel room met my eyesDid we miss them? Of course! Did we have fun? What do you think? Did they survive? Absolutely! Would we go again? It it was free again, you bet!

So, after a week in paradise, we said Aloha and came home to our babies, who never missed a beat.

We brought back lots of wonderful memories, fun souvenirs—and over 100 ounces of breast milk :O)

12 thoughts on “Hi to HI

  1. I’m so glad you went! All parents deserve a break…and not all get one in such a great location. I bet the boys missed you at least a smidge, but probably got through it w/ the doting of a grandparent all week long! LOL Great pics, glad you and Thomas got to enjoy the 2nd honeymoon-esque environment for a bit. :)

  2. p.s. Ya know, I was thinkin’, I don’t think my SIL had a lot of suggestions for such outings ‘cuz they lived there w/ 5 kids…I don’t think in their time there my bro and SIL did the hiking and ATV riding (bro just did some surfing w/ fellow soldiers)! You may have enjoyed HI more than some of the locals! LOL

  3. I was wondering if you were still breastfeeding. That was what made me not want to go on a vacation after Liam was born. I didn’t want to have to pump a bunch and then bring a bunch back. However, after seeing your pictures the other day, I told Damon that I need to have a business trip to Hawaii so that we can go after the second one is born. Your pictures looked so nice. I’ve never been to Hawaii and I was a bit jealous. I’m glad the boys did so well and that you guys had an enjoyable time.

    • Leigh Anne:
      I was sooooo nervous about the trip, but now that I have gone, I can say it was much less of a struggle to be away from them than I thought it would be. I only teared up a few times :O). I worried for a bit that I might have to dump out all my milk (long flight—too hard to keep it cold) but the airline let me use fridge space! Yeah! You and Damon should plan a little something once things are established with #2. I had a friend take a cruise after ther 2nd was born (when he was 7 months old) and she was one big encourager for me to tag along.

  4. What a WONDERFUL treat! I laughed when I read about how much milk you brought back! I’m so glad that you had a chance to get away together. Maybe you can get away together as a family sometime and link up with us! Miss you guys…

  5. I was hoping you would post some pics when you got back. Sounds like you had a blast. Love the rainbow shot. And you have definitely gotten your money’s worth out of your pump! ;o)

    • Jennifer: Thomas posted some pictures on FB as the week progressed and I managed to upload a few as well—but I know you do not have an account. I have definitely gotten my money out of my pump! It was on a clearance for 10 bucks! It has less bells and whistles than the one I had with Daniel, but that one broke, so I guess less is more!

  6. Wow! I’m so glad that you had that opportunity! Every great mom deserves a break now and then! HI is beautiful…Buck’s parents used to live there, and we went twice to visit. My favorite was watching the sunrise on the beach. Sigh…

  7. 100 ounces of breast milk….what an ending to a wonderful blog. so glad you and your hubby were able to take such a trip without your kiddos. they survive and us grandparents LOVE to have them all to ourselves.

Leave a Reply

