Oh When The Saints

Oh, when the saints go marching in
Oh, when the saints go marching in
Lord, how I want to be in that number
When the saints go marching in

This post is not what you think. I care not about the Superbowl Champs. I am referring to a real Saint who just marched in:

“Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of His Saints.”

Psalms 116:15

Thomas’s Paw-Paw, after 98 years in this world, has headed home. My, my what an earthly loss. I am, however, comforted by the fact he is with his Lord, and on that fact, all is well.

The earth is missing a selfless and loving individual today. I talked about narcissists in a previous post; Paw-Paw would never be called such, for this Saint, while in the hospital with numbered days, stayed awake for an hour and a half in the middle of the night, praying for everyone around him—-but never himself.

This is a Saint who would have one of his sweaters waiting for me when I showed up to visit, for he knew I would get cold.

This Saint truly lived out these verses: “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others. Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus…” Philippians 2:3-5

This Saint went to the World’s Fair on a dime and came back with change.

This Saint had a strong grip and could out walk most 30 year olds.

This Saint was proud of what he had and what he had done in life, but he was never boastful.

He was spectacular. He is still loved.

This Saint will be missed.

Oh, when the saints go marching in
Oh, when the saints go marching in
Lord, how I want to be in that number
When the saints go marching in

And I know he is out marching everyone as he enters!

Rest in Peace, Paw-Paw.  I am so glad my boys and I got to know you.

6 thoughts on “Oh When The Saints

  1. We’re sorry for the great loss to your family, though we know there’s also something to celebrate in this occasion as well. We will pray for your household, the special ladies in is life, and other relatives who will surely struggle with this parting. Thanks for sharing this lovely man with us all.

  2. Pingback: Life is like a game of UNO …. « Thom's Thoughts

  3. Pingback: 30 While 30 – The Comprehensive List « Thom's Thoughts

Leave a Reply

