A New First

This is a first……and hopefully a last.

Daniel and I journeyed to the grocery store today, and although I normally avoid them like the plague, I decided that we would use a stupid cart that has a car attached. You know the ones I am talking about, for
they are almost completely useless. The cart is almost impossible to steer, the basket portion is smaller, and there has to be even more germs on it than a normal buggy. After today, I now have a new reason to hate them.

A feature of these bothersome carts is that they place your child closer to the ground and they make a child a little harder to observe. Even though Daniel was securely bucked into the car, his arms still had the ability to reach out and grab. For 95% of the shopping trip, I was unaware that this accessibility was even an issue. When I leaned down eye level to hear something he had to say, I noticed Daniel had procured a canned good, fried apples to be exact, at the start of our shopping experience. At this point, it was somewhat cute, and I laughed a little at the fact he chose fried apples as his product of choice. I gently told my son that we did not need those and he should not grab anything else.

Once the shopping was complete, we headed to checkout. It is a well known fact that the checkout is surrounded by those “impulse buys,” mainly candy, that the stores hope you will succumb to and buy. Daniel found himself eye level and in easy access to some M&M candies. After a quick “Put those back!” from me, Daniel listened and did as told. A few moments later, I realized he had some Rolos in his tiny hand. I, of course, repeated the same phrase, and all was well again.

I guided the hopeless car cart to our vehicle. After unhooking Daniel, I proceeded to place him into his car seat, only to notice he was still holding Rolos! Not only was he holding them, he had taken a bite out of the golden foil that covered the chocolate caramels. Completely frustrated, I placed him back into the car cart, and we, along with all our groceries, trekked back into the store. I took him, and the candy, to the self-check out station. Lifting him out, I held him on my hip and the Rolos in my hand. I made him tell the older gentleman working the self-check out what he had done. None of it was intelligible, but Daniel sputtered out a sequence of remarks. I then translated what had happened, and the man was surprised that I had returned to pay. I then told Daniel that we had to buy them because he had already tried to eat them. It was also noted that even though I was buying them, he was not going to get to eat them.

After purchasing, the man thanked me again for coming back into the store, and he made some sort of comment about how he was glad I was trying to teach him a lesson. What was I suppose to do? Just let the kid keep them and leave without paying? I would surely hope people do not do that.

I am not sure if Daniel really understood what he did that was wrong, I just know that he understood Mommy was not happy.

As for the unintentionally purchased Rolos…..I ate them. I am, after all, pregnant, and chocolate is always good to me.

4 thoughts on “A New First

  1. Even if Daniel didn’t understand what he did was wrong, the important thing is that he knows it did not make you happy and that he probably shouldn’t do that again! I had a lady who came in one day and put some mints on the counter and turned to her daughter and said, “tell the lady what you did.” Her daughter had stole a thing of mints and ate them….the mom later found the packaging on the floor of her bedroom. The mom made her apologize and she paid for a pack of mints (the ones her daughter had already eaten). I don’t know how many parents actually do bring their child back in and pay for stuff when that happens because they are embarrassed or whatever, but it did impress me that she did that!

  2. I’ve done that. I don’t go grocery shopping with the kids very often anymore but when they were younger and we went grocery shopping, it was hard to keep an eye on all of them. Once, when getting them all buckled, I discovered James with a bag of chips, half eaten. I had to get ALL the kids out of the van (Noelle was just an infant, so I had to carry that big carseat into the store again.) and made him explain and apologize. The cashier said, “Oh, that’s ok, just let him keep them.” My reaction, “Don’t ever tell a kid that it’s ok to STEAL something, even if it is a 33 cent bag of chips because it is never ok.” On our way out, the rest of the chips were thrown away and I took the money out of James’ piggy bank when we got home.

    That’s not the only time I’ve had to return something to the store, but it is the one that really sticks in my head.

Leave a Reply

