The Dénouement

There has been a lot of drama in my life recently (which is something that I am not very use to having). The
drama, fortunately, has not been associated with my home life. It mainly came
from my friends and their lives. There has also been some drama at work.
And even though I work little, the issues there, combined with the craziness
among my friends, have come to consume me, thus becoming worry. At church on
Sunday, Pastor Mike brought a great sermon to the congregation (you can listen to it at the link if you want to know more). He defined worry
as “meditation on the wrong things.” He then said that through this meditation,
“you give thought to your worry….you give it potential.” Then, when “you act in
word or deed to the worry, you’ve given root to that seed of worry in your
life.” He gave us a visual to focus on as he discussed “flinging” your worries
to God. When you give God your worries, he keeps them. The only way that you can
get them back is to go and get them from God. You then essentially say to God “I
don’t believe you can handle it, so I’ve picked my worry back up.” It was such
a good sermon. I thought of the “drama” around me- my thoughts about what might
happen when/if certain things unfold with my friends and at work. I was worried
and there was nothing my worry could do for my friends and their decisions and
actions. There is nothing worry can do for the changes at work. Only prayer can change those things. I should “just fling it” and let God keep my
worries, not taking them back up. He can handle it!!! Hence, the title of my
post: The Denouement. Denouement is just a fancy literary term for the end/resolution/conclusion
of a play. So, it makes perfect sense- the conclusion to my worry and the
little play (a.k.a- the drama) that has been going on all around me.

Leave a Reply

